“Then the world changed!” exclaimed Mel.

Today I learned something small and great, simply because a reader left some helpful feedback on my JukePop writing. That something was this:

I have been incorrectly punctuating dialogue tags my entire life.

Mind you, I’m no Emily Dickinson with hiding my writings in a cupboard and showing them to no one. I turned in such writing for creative writing and English classes. Nary a peep from the teachers about said tags. Alas, teachers are not editors.

I did feel slightly comforted when several people pointed out that it is actually a common error. For example I was writing dialogue tags such as:

“Do you want a taco?” Asked Sam.
“I would love a taco!” Exclaimed Pat.
“I would like a chicken taco, please.” Said Leo.

When those dialogue tags would correctly be:

“Do you want a taco?” asked Sam.
“I would love a taco!” exclaimed Pat.
“I would like a chicken taco, please,” said Leo.

Yes, those are lower case letters following punctuation marks enclosed by quotation marks. You can read more about punctuating dialogue by clicking here.

I guess this post lends itself well to supporting two of the best pieces of advice for writing. 1. Get an editor. 2. Have good beta readers.

© Melissa (Mel) Jordan and Melsj, 2011-2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Melissa (Mel) Jordan and Melsj with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

star-225410 (1)

2 responses to ““Then the world changed!” exclaimed Mel.

  1. Nice to know. But poetry Allows us to break every rule,for effectiveness sake. As well as letting us be ignoramuses.Ignoramusii.Poetry,Prose narrative ? I get it,I get it. LOL

Leave a Reply

