Ten Minute Poetry

Right now in English class, my students are working on a mystery unit, which got me thinking about the life of Edgar Allan Poe (whose face would make a sweet tat but that’s obviously another story…). Poe would write dozens of poems a day, which got me thinking: although my poetry was never particularly good on a regular basis, I did enjoy the word play.

In light of this reflection, I have decided to challenge myself to write and edit (as best I can) one short poem a day, spending only ten minutes on both the writing and editing process. These poems will be under the “10 Minute Poetry” category on this blog. (See the category menu to your left, if reading on a computer screen!)

While I’m not claiming that these poems hold any astounding qualities, I do enjoy the fast and furious process of having such a small amount of time to unleash a fervor of creativity. Hopefully my personal challenge will inspire other writers to create challenges for themselves as well.
© Melissa (Mel) Jordan and Melsj, 2011-2013. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Melissa (Mel) Jordan and Melsj with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Milky_Way_-_Taken_from_Australia_-_25_second_exposure_at_ISO_800

2 responses to “Ten Minute Poetry

  1. Pingback: National Poetry Month | melsj·

  2. Pingback: A Year Of Writing | melsj·

Leave a Reply

