The Wildflower Knoll

Will I forgive myself of guilt and shame?
We lie here on wildflowers, hearts throbbing.
Beneath brilliant stars, burning like our flame.
O, you, Adonis, sanity robbing.

Yet I will our fleshy Cupid’s bows meet,
Lips more bright than Cassiopeia.
While this last plea I hurriedly entreat,
As dawn dims these stars, give no idea.

My earthly Orion–strong arms’ embrace,
A milky way of warmth ’round my being.
Never cared less if I should fall from grace:
Like stars (endless),  like night sky’s edge (freeing).

As long as stars will shimmer in the night,
Let us join in Aphrodite’s delight.

S207

Leave a Reply

