First of the 339 Reading Challenge

If you haven’t read about how I’m challenging myself as a reader, I invite you to view  this page on my blog. Also known as the “Gilmore Girls” reading challenge, my goal is to read each of the 339 books referenced in the TV show.

Today, I started with George Orwell’s 1984. I almost started with Steinbeck’s Of Mice And Men but read the book jacket and decided that a story about two men frustrated with farming land that doesn’t belong to them was too much of a depressing metaphor for my own career right now. (Insert laughter here.)

One of the wonderful things about re-reading great books is as one matures one notices different things. Although I was an avid reader of Orwell in high school, (to the point where people would critique my creative writing and name Orwell as the author it reminded them of) I was surprised at how many  new details I found myself noting as I read. Most obviously was the ease with which envisioning the story came, in contrast to the difficulty I had with reading 1984 for the first time (I first approached this book in 6th or 7th grade.)

I plan to update you with my progress, but in the meantime, I welcome you to peruse “The 339” page on this blog. Books I’m currently reading will be written in green, books I’ve finished since starting this challenge will be written in red. I welcome you to read along–a 339 book club of sorts–and update with your own progress in the comments below.

 

George-Orwell-1984

Unfortunately, I don’t have the version of the book with this awesome cover.

3 responses to “First of the 339 Reading Challenge

  1. Good luck with your personal challenge Mel, I might have started with the Steinbeck but I take your point. I’m pleased to see one of my favourite books on your list, I’ve just started reading ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ again myself.

    I’d like to pop in from time to time 🙂

    • Either way–with Orwell or Steinbeck–it will make for a depressing read. LOL. Feel free to pop in! I’m really looking forward to reading “To Kill a Mockingbird” because despite the really awesome books my teachers had me read throughout my education, I somehow missed that one!

Leave a Reply

