Whistling Wind

Whistling wind: the sound of lost souls
souls that could no longer cling to life
Come take me away on your breeze.

My soul yearning
for your commune.

The door stops us from joining.
I, afraid to open it.
Failure is no stranger to these hands.

And so my soul yearns
for your commune.

Whistling plea
the most beautiful sound.
A message from a friend arrives,
“how are you doing?”

What should I say?
Oh, just thinking about my soul 
leaving and floating away on the wind?
“I’m fine.”

What kind of answer did you even want?
Oh, I’m depressed?
Oh, the stress of the world is unbearable?
What good would that answer be for you?

And so my soul yearns
for the wind.

7177447075_3bc0e396c2_o

Image source.

2 responses to “Whistling Wind

  1. Beautiful…to answer truth, or what they need to hear. Almost always best to just choose what they need to hear. Great piece!

Leave a Reply

