Universe

When I sit to write,
the mind whirling in
racing thought’s flurry,
stops.
Galaxies of thoughts
drift slowly away.

When I sit to write,
faucets, traffic, clocks,
futility’s noise,
stops.
Quietude’s vacuum
surrounds all senses.

When I sit to write,
words, couplets, stanzas,
an artist’s service,
begins.
Grasping for hottest
blue star messengers.

But when I stand, and
read aloud the work,
I hold in my hand
simple prose.
Naked.
Save for a pair
of dirty poetic briefs.
It resides in the gutter,
and looks up at night, envying

the galaxies and hot blue stars.

galaxy_background_images_wallpaper_hd_wallpaper_background_flooxscom (1)

4 responses to “Universe

    • Thanks! I’m really happy you enjoyed it! The time started to posted was 10 minutes (which is the whole idea of my category ten minute poetry).

Leave a Reply

