Liebster

liebster

Phantomwriter143 over at inkcouragement nominated this blog for a Liebster! (Go check out her blog.) This is the second award I’ve received since starting this blog on March 9th. I’m pretty stoked about that, at least someone in the ether of the internet likes this.

According to the rules of the Liebster, a recipient accepts by:

  • posting 11 random facts about themselves
  • answering 11 questions from the person who nominated them (for my nominees, these will be the same questions I answer.)
  • nominating (up to) 11 bloggers with less than 200 followers (and letting those you nominate know that they’ve been nominated.)

11 Random Facts

  1. I am the youngest sibling.
  2. I would rather sit in a challenging lecture or seminar than exchange pleasantries.
  3. I used to play the bagpipes.
  4. 我说中文。
  5. Tá Gaeilge agam.
  6. Aber, ich spreche nicht gut Deutsch.
  7. I spend a lot of time worrying.
  8. Then I spend time wondering if my worries are normal.
  9. I love the Lower East Side Pickle Festival (Oh, you don’t know it? It’s kind of a big dill.)
  10. I have a lot of respect for good tattoo artists. What other medium starts moving and crying half way through an artist’s work?
  11. One day, I would like to live a self sustainable lifestyle in a log cabin (or tree house) in the woods or in a New Mexican EarthShip, even if only for a short period of time for a documentary or writing project.

11 Questions

  1. What kind of music do you like to listen to while writing, if any at all?

    I don’t like to listen to music while writing, I find it much too distracting. Sounds, words, and especially songs in my memory are linked to very vivid experiences and often I can inadvertently summon an emotion or experience unrelated to the topic of my writing at the time if I listen to music.

  2. What is it about writing that keeps you going, even when you’re not sure you want to continue?

    The act of continuing changes it from the thing it was when you weren’t sure you wanted to continue.

  3. Who is your favorite author?

    Camus.

  4. What genre do you read, but swear you’ll never write?

    Philosophy and Theology.

  5. What do you do when you tell yourself something along the lines of ‘I’ll only procrastinate a little bit longer’?

    Start on something on the to-do list, hoping to eventually make it back to whatever I was avoiding.

  6. What brings you right into a writing mood, and how do you keep it that way?

    What is this “writing mood”? Writing is for all moods. Writing revels in all emotions. Writing is simply a practice–like brushing your teeth. Either you do it or you don’t. No one ever said, “oh, the tooth brushing mood didn’t capture my vast imagination today, so I just couldn’t summon the energy to do it!” You either tell yourself, I am going to write my story as it is now, in this moment, even if it is horrifically bad, or you don’t. But, it goes both ways. Writers who say, “Oh I can’t do anything for a year but sit inside and write,” waste time, and writers who don’t sit down to write something every day waste potential.  A fire of never springs to life where you want it, some poor sap has to sit there rubbing twigs together over kindling. The same goes for writing.

  7. Favorite series, and favorite stand alone?

    The Dark Is Rising Series and Beowulf

  8. Have you ever seriously screwed up your sleeping schedule because of a book? Was it worth it, and what were you reading?

    Yes. Yes. Harry Potter.

  9. What do you do to remember those ideas you come up with when you’re not able to write?

    Write them down in a note taking app in my phone. Or on a scrap of paper.

  10. Are there any books or series that you thought were great, and then the ending just ruined everything for you?

    It felt like Harry Potter almost ended too quickly at the end, and I would have liked to see more of the characters as adults.

  11. Why do you write?
    It’s that or boredom. 

 

Nominees:
Liebster tradition calls for 11 nominees, but in true Meltonian fashion, only the coolest blogs that meet Liebster qualifications are nominated in no particular order, below. Check them out!

 

Leave a Reply

